Lions Baseball Releases 2020 Schedule

Lions Baseball Releases 2020 Schedule

ALTOONA, Pa. – The Penn State Altoona baseball program has announced its 2020 season schedule.

The Lions' schedule will consist of 40 total games, highlighted by 12 home games at Stewart Athletic Field, 10 doubleheaders against Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference opponents, and the team's annual trip to compete in the RussMatt Central Florida Invitational.

Penn State Altoona will open its 2020 regular season with a pair of trip to Virginia in February. On Sunday, February 23, the Lions will play Eastern Mennonite University in a doubleheader starting at 12:00 p.m. On Saturday, February 29, the team heads south again to face Bridgewater College in a doubleheader beginning at 11:00 a.m.

The Lions open the month of March with a nine-game slate in the RussMatt Central Florida Invitational. From Sunday, March 8 through Saturday, March 14, Penn State Altoona will face Division III baseball teams from around the country. Opponents, dates, times, and locations for the week are currently to-be-determined and will be announced at a later date.

After returning to Pennsylvania, the Lions will start AMCC play at home on Sunday, March 22 with a doubleheader against Penn State Behrend at 12:00 p.m. Following that, the Lions will travel to play conference foes Pitt-Greensburg (Tuesday, March 24 at 1:00 p.m.) and Hilbert College (Saturday, March 28 at 1:00 p.m.).

Penn State Altoona has a busy schedule during April, when the Lions will play in 21 total games in the span of 29 days. At home, Penn State Altoona will host doubleheaders against AMCC opponents Pitt-Bradford (Wednesday, April 1 at 1:00 p.m.), defending champion La Roche University (Tuesday, April 7 at 1:00 p.m.), D'Youville College (Saturday, April 11 at 1:00 p.m.), and first-year program Franciscan University (Tuesday, April 21 at 1:00 p.m.). The Lions will also host regional non-conference foe Juniata College for two games on Monday, April 20 at 1:00 p.m.

On the road in April, the Lions will travel to play AMCC opponents Mount Aloysius College (Wednesday, April 15 at 1:00 p.m.), Medaille College (Saturday, April 18 at 1:00 p.m.), and Alfred State College (Saturday, April 25 at 1:00 p.m.). Penn State Altoona also travels to play non-conference opponents Saint Vincent College (Sunday, April 5 at 1:00 p.m.) and Penn College (Wednesday, April 8 at 1:00 p.m.) in doubleheaders, as well as Lancaster Bible College in a single, nine-inning game on Wednesday, April 29 at 3:30 p.m.

View the complete 2020 Penn State Altoona baseball schedule